There’s Something About “Rebekah”

rebekah-at-the-well
Read Genesis 24:14-58

Key verses: Genesis 24:18 “Drink, my lord,” she said, and quickly lowered the jar to her hands and gave him a drink. 19 After she had given him a drink, she said, “I’ll draw water for your camels too, until they have finished drinking.”

Genesis 24:58 “So they called Rebekah and asked her, “Will you go with this man?” “I will go,” She said.

Okay! So as I am reading this story I am wondering what is so fantastic about Rebekah that caught the eye of Abraham’s servant?! Providing water for him and his camels seems such a small thing to be esteemed as so great. Right?… So I looked deeper into the underlying character behind Rebekah’s behavior at what makes her so special.

What Rebekah IS:

  • Rebekah is DECISIVE. She “quickly lowered the jar” – this tells me that there is absolutely zero hesitation pertaining to her act of kindness. She doesn’t take time to second guess her next move. She observed a need, she was able to provide, and she fulfilled it. No questions asked.
  • Rebekah is GENEROUS. “I’ll draw water for your camels too”. She is not only willing to give Abraham’s servant water but also his camels (I’d imagine 10 camels drink a ton!) We have to put ourselves back in the time when this interaction took place. Water may very well have been limited and physically draining to obtain. However, she doesn’t hesitate to share what she has.
  • Rebekah is OBEDIENT. “I will go” She is responding to this mans request with a yes. I can only assume that she is saying YES to God by saying yes to this man. She is faithful to the Lord and doesn’t question where, what, when, why, or how. She has faith and trusts in God’s plan for her.

What Rebekah IS NOT:

  • Indecisive
  • Selfish
  • Disobedient
  • A procrastinator
  • Lazy
  • Unreliable
  • Faithless

I wonder how many times God asks us to do something or has something special for us but before we will commit, accept, or go, we want to know WHY, WHAT, WHO, HOW, WHERE, etc… I know I’m guilty of this. However, God has got our back through any circumstance, triumph, or trial we will ever face. Let’s live what we know to be true and behave how we believe. God is so worthy of our trust in Him alone. He has gone before us and will equip us every step of the way on our journey with him!

Deutoronomy 31:8 “It is the Lord who goes before you. He will be with you; he will not leave you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed”.

Live Fiercely.

Leave a comment